Language schools

Language studies

When you study English or French in Canada, you will learn so much more than the pleasant pronunciation of Canadian English or the wonderful romance of Canadian French. You will learn about the beauty of a country that has more than two million lakes, more than 1000 parks, four distinct seasons and many natural wonders.

The consistency of standards is very important to Canadians and ensures that you will experience only the best quality instruction. Whether you choose to study on the East Coast, the West Coast or anywhere in between, you will not be disappointed.

You can find a listing of Canadian language schools accredited under an internationally-recognized quality-assurance mechanism at the website of Languages Canada.

Academic language requirements for post-secondary education

You do not have to speak both English and French to study at a Canadian university or college - however, you will have to show proficiency in one, depending on the institution you apply to. Many English-language universities and colleges required that you write a Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOFEL) or the Canadian Academic English Language Assessment (CAEL). Canadian French-language universities usually assess applicants on a case-by-case basis. To find out the language requirement for a specific university or college, check with its registrar’s office.

Écoles de langues

Études linguistiques

L’étude du français ou de l’anglais au Canada ne permet pas seulement d’apprendre de charmantes expressions canadiennes-françaises ou de se familiariser avec la prononciation mélodieuse de l’anglais canadien. C’est aussi un moyen d’explorer la beauté d’un pays qui compte plus de deux millions de lacs, plus de 1 000 parcs, quatre saisons distinctes et de nombreuses merveilles naturelles.

Les Canadiens attachent une grande importance au respect des normes, si bien que vous bénéficierez d’un enseignement de première qualité. Que vous choisissiez d’étudier sur la côte Est ou la côte Ouest, ou n’importe où ailleurs au Canada, vous ne serez jamais déçu.

Pour accéder à une liste des écoles de langues canadiennes certifiées au moyen d’un mécanisme d’assurance de la qualité reconnu mondialement, veuillez consulter le site Web de Langues Canada.

Exigences linguistiques pour des études postsecondaires

Vous n’avez pas besoin de parler à la fois l’anglais et le français pour étudier dans une université ou un collège canadien. Toutefois, vous devrez au moins maîtriser une de ces deux langues, selon l’établissement que vous souhaitez fréquenter. Un grand nombre d’universités et de collèges anglophones exigent que vous passiez un test d’anglais langue seconde (c.-à-d. Test of English as a Foreign Language [TOFEL]), ou le Canadian Academic English Language Assessment (CAEL) (anglais seulement). En règle générale, les universités francophones évaluent les candidats au cas par cas. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques d’une université ou d’un collège, adressez-vous au bureau du registraire ou du directeur de l’établissement.