Elementary and secondary schools in Canada

Education systems

In Canada, provinces and territories are responsible for their elementary and secondary schools, both within and without their geographical borders. Use the information on the Web site of the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials (CICIC) as a starting point to learn about the elementary and secondary education systems in the provinces and territories of Canada.

There are numerous private, independent and publicly-funded elementary and secondary schools available in Canada.

International students can choose to study intensive English or French. Alternatively, they can enrol in an integrated academic and English or French program. For those with strong language skills in either official language, there are various academic programs, which can lead to a secondary school diploma.

Private elementary and secondary schools

The legal status of private schools varies across Canada as each province or territory is responsible for the regulatory environment of schools in its jurisdiction.

Most provinces and territories require private schools to be registered with their ministries of education, and must meet the curriculum and other standards set by their respective ministries; however, they may operate differently.

In Ontario, for example, private schools operate independently without any oversight by the Ministry of Education. However, if a private school wishes to offer credits toward a secondary school graduation diploma they are inspected to determine whether the standard of instruction in credit courses meets ministry requirements.

Association

Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (CAIS)

Public elementary and secondary schools

Many Canadian public schools are now accepting international students into their programs. Publicly-funded schools are managed at the local level by elected school boards.

Almost all public schools are co-educational and offer day programs only. Many school boards offer secular or non-religious education while others have religious affiliations. However, this varies from province to province.

Policies on accepting international students and the fees charged vary from district to district.

Association

Canadian Association of Public Schools - International (CAPS-I)

Education au/in Canada

Écoles primaires et secondaires du Canada

Les systèmes d'éducation

Au Canada, les provinces et les territoires sont responsables de leurs écoles primaires et secondaires, qu'elles soient situées sur leur territoire géographique ou non. Utilisez les renseignements sur le site Web du Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux (CICDI) comme point de départ afin d'en apprendre davantage sur les systèmes d'éducation primaire et secondaire des provinces et des territoires du Canada.

Il existe de nombreuses écoles primaires et secondaires privées, indépendantes et publiques au Canada.

Les étudiants internationaux peuvent choisir de suivre des cours intensifs d’anglais ou de français ou bien un programme intégrant des cours généraux et des cours d’anglais ou de français. Pour ceux qui ont un excellent niveau d’anglais ou de français, il existe divers programmes de cours généraux qui peuvent conduire l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires.

Écoles primaires et secondaires privées

Le statut juridique des écoles privées varie au Canada, chaque province ou territoire étant responsable de l’environnement réglementaire des écoles relevant de sa compétence.

Dans la majorité des provinces et territoires, les écoles privées doivent être enregistrées auprès du ministère de l’Éducation provincial ou territorial et appliquer le programme d’études et d’autres normes établis par leurs ministères respectifs. Cependant, le mode de fonctionnement peut différer dans d’autres provinces et territoires.

En Ontario, par exemple, les écoles privées mènent leurs activités de façon indépendante, sans supervision du ministère de l’Éducation. Cependant, les écoles privées qui souhaitent offrir des crédits menant à un diplôme d’études secondaires sont soumises à des inspections servant à déterminer si les normes de l’enseignement dispensé dans les cours donnant droit à crédit satisfont aux exigences du Ministère.

Association

Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (CAIS) (anglais seulement)

Écoles primaires et secondaires publiques

De nombreuses écoles publiques canadiennes acceptent aujourd’hui des étudiants internationaux dans leurs programmes. Elles sont gérées au niveau local par des conseils scolaires élus.

La plupart de ces écoles sont mixtes et offrent des programmes d’externat uniquement. De nombreux conseils scolaires offrent une éducation laïque alors que d’autres ont des affiliations religieuses.

Toutefois, cela varie selon les provinces. Les politiques concernant l’acceptation d’étudiants étrangers et les frais de scolarité varient selon le district.

Association

Association canadienne des écoles publiques - international (ACEP-I)

Éducation au Canada