Canada's education systems

Did you know?

  • More than 400,000 international students chose Canada in 2016!
  • Canada has 4 universities in the top 100 of the 2016 Academic Ranking of World Universities (the Shanghai Ranking).
  • 5 MBA schools in Canada placed in the top 100 of the 2016 Financial Times rankings.
  • Canadian students perform well in reading, literacy, maths and sciences, top among English and French speaking countries according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Program for International Student Assessment (PISA).
  • The university sector is the 2nd largest performer of research in Canada after the private sector. With only 0.5% of the global population, Canada produces 2.8% of global scientific research (Thomson Reuters list of Highly Cited Researchers).

Canada is one of the world's top education performers and spends more per tertiary student than almost all OECD countries. Students score high on international tests reflecting the dedication each jurisdiction has on the quality of our education system.

In Canada, post-secondary education is the responsibility of provincial and territorial governments, and in each province and territory there are laws, policies and procedures that govern the operation of education institutions. The basic structures of provincial and territorial education systems across Canada are similar. Each has 3 tiers — elementary, secondary, and postsecondary; all provide universal, free elementary and secondary schooling for Canadian students.

Each jurisdiction has their own quality assurance mechanisms that are used in combination to ensure quality in the country's wide range of post-secondary institutions. This ensures Canada's academic credentials continue to be valued worldwide.

Step 1-2-3

Want to study in a particular province or find out what schools are available in which province? Try our handy Step 1-2-3 tool to find out what programs are available, how much it costs and what documents are required as a citizen of your country.

Questions?

For more information about schools by province, please visit our Provinces, Territories and Cities section.

More information

Systèmes d'éducation au Canada

Le saviez-vous?

  • Plus de 400 000 étudiants internationaux ont choisi le Canada en 2016!
  • Quatre universités canadiennes figurent parmi les 100 premiers établissements du Classement mondial des universités de Shanghai (2016) (anglais seulement).
  • 5 programmes de MBA canadiens figurent parmi les 100 premiers du Classement du Financial Times (2016).
  • Selon le Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves de l'OCDE (PISA), les étudiants canadiens font bonne figure en lecture, en mathématiques et en sciences et arrivent premiers dans pays anglophones et francophones.
  • Les universités se classent au 2e rang, derrière le secteur privé, pour la recherche réalisée au Canada. Même si notre pays ne compte que 0,5 % de la population mondiale, il contribue pour 2,8 % à la recherche scientifique mondiale (Thomson Reuters list of Highly Cited Researchers).

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de l'éducation et il consacre plus d'argent par étudiant à l'éducation postsecondaire que la plupart des autres pays de l'OCDE. Les étudiants obtiennent d'excellents résultats aux tests internationaux, témoignage de l'importance que chaque province ou territoire attache à la qualité de notre système d'éducation.

Au Canada, l'éducation postsecondaire est une responsabilité relevant des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, et dans chaque province et territoire, des lois, politiques et procédures régissent le fonctionnement des institutions d'enseignement. Les structures de base des systèmes d'éducation provinciaux et territoriaux sont similaires dans tout le Canada. Partout, il existe trois niveaux – élémentaire, secondaire et postsecondaire – et chaque province ou territoire assure aux élèves canadiens un accès universel et gratuit à l'éducation primaire et secondaire.

Chaque province ou territoire a ses propres mécanismes d'assurance de la qualité. Utilisés conjointement, ils permettent d'assurer la qualité à l'échelle des établissements postsecondaires. De cette façon, la qualité des diplômes canadiens continue d'être reconnue dans le monde entier.

Étape 1-2-3

Vous voulez étudier dans une province en particulier ou savoir quelles sont les écoles accessibles dans chaque province? Essayez notre outil pratique Étape 1-2-3 pour connaître les programmes proposés, les droits de scolarité et les documents à présenter par les ressortissants de votre pays.

Des questions?

Pour en savoir plus sur les établissements d'enseignement par province, prière de consulter notre section provinces, territoires et villes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements