International student testimonials

Studying in Canada is an exciting and rewarding experience for many students around the world. The chance to learn in world-class institutions, the possibility of making friends from different cultures, and the opportunity to experience all that Canada has to offer for yourself! It’s hard not to imagine studying in Canada when there are so many exciting adventures and study opportunities that await!

Meet other international students from your country as well as others, such as Brazil, China, Germany, India, Jamaica, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco and South Korea, who chose to study in Canada. Find out what they learned and where they are now!

Juliana Souza from Brazil – Advisor of the International Division of Mercedes-Benz in Brazil

University of Victoria: English Summer Course (2008)

If I could describe my experience in a single sentence, it would be: University of Victoria - a wonderful and magical place where happiness never ends! The campus is brand new, clean, modern and equipped with cutting edge technology! Just walk around to see: beautiful gardens, large sports facilities, fitness centers, cinemas and bars.

The English course is excellent, the teachers use methods that are dynamic and entertaining. They also are patient and really efficient.

Julia Zhu from China – Sommelier, Beijing Hilton Hotel

George Brown College: Diploma, Hospitality Operations Management (2007)

Having an exciting experience and seeing another part of the world became my mission when I first moved to Canada.  I became so interested in the hospitality industry that I enrolled in the Hospitality Operations Management program at George Brown College and ended up studying with the Canadian Association of Professional Sommelier where I became certified after 2+ years. I have been working with wine at various Hilton hotels ever since.

I cannot underestimate the influence that Canada had on me. I am grateful to the Canadian education system for shaping who I am and for the totally different life path I’m on because of my experiences.

Sarah Larsen-Vefring from Germany

Université de Montréal: International Studies (2009-2010)

My “International Studies” at the Université de Montréal gave me a wide knowledge of the relations between countries and cultures from a Canadian perspective. I learned more about the political, economic and social systems in Canada and in North America. Travelling from Nova Scotia in the East to the Rocky Mountains in the West, I discovered the amazing Canadian landscape. For the first time in my life, I went winter camping, dog-sledding and snowshoeing.

Amit Tacker from India – Director, AV Sales, Tacker Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Carleton University: Bachelor in Engineering (2002)

For my higher education I was looking for a place that would expose me to a great mix of quality education, culture & social policies. That is when I came across Canada. All of these factors were reaffirmed when I started my Engineering studies at Carleton University located in the “Silicon Valley” of the North. My time in Canada has allowed me to professionally serve my diverse customer base in India today, and my education has helped me stay current at work.

Damian K. Francis from Jamaica – Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2009-2010)

University of Ottawa - University of the West Indies

My Emerging Leaders in the Americas (ELAP) scholarship opened the door for me to study in a world-class academic environment in Canada. It was a unique opportunity that significantly enriched my own learning experience and helped me to develop policies on how to bridge the gap between the lab, field, and society.

Monique Bassila Zaarour from Lebanon – Owner and General Manager of So7i Wa Sari3

McGill University: Bachelor of Science in Dietetics (1994)

The academic and professional experiences that I acquired in Canada are not the only reasons why I highly encourage people to pursue their studies in Canada. In fact, beyond the solid scientific knowledge that I acquired, it is the multicultural exposure that I cherish the most. My university professors were not only teachers but also mentors that were willing to help students anytime and in any situation. They taught me the proper way of learning and how to think critically.

Darinka Aguirre from Mexico

Emily Carr University of Art + Design: Master’s in Applied Arts and Industrial Design (2010)

These two years in Canada have been the most important of my career to date. This experience has enriched me beyond what I believed possible. Canada is a place that is safe and multicultural, where people are respected and taken care of. Studying in Canada provided me with many skills from an international perspective. Thanks to the high quality of education, I have been invited to speak at important conferences worldwide. Canada is a country where your voice is heard and your opinion counts.

Kébir Ratnani from Morocco – Vice-président principal, Développement des affaires, Afrique du Nord et Moyen-Orient, SNC-Lavalin Construction Inc.

Université Laval: Master in Biochemical Engineering (1980) & Bachelor in Chemical Engineering (1977)

The Canadian education system is an excellent environment that is centered on the student and on theoretical knowledge and practical expertise allowing the student not only to succeed but to bloom. Canada offers students a rewarding life experience which will benefit them on a professional as well as personal level.

Professor James Won-Ki Hong from South Korea - Professor and Head of Division, IT Convergence Engineering, POSTECH, Pohang, Korea

University of Western Ontario: BA in Computer Science (1987), University of Waterloo: PhD in Communications in Distributed Systems (1991)

I am grateful to Canada and the Canadian education system for the good, comfortable and fun life I had, and for the excellent education I received from high school, university and post-graduate institutions. It gave me confidence in everything I do, gave me ample opportunities to become a free thinker and made me a more relaxed person.

Témoignages d'étudiants internationaux

Étudier au Canada est une expérience passionnante et enrichissante pour de nombreux étudiants dans le monde entier. L'occasion d'étudier dans une institution de classe mondiale, la possibilité de se faire des amis de différentes cultures et l'opportunité de découvrir tout ce que le Canada a à offrir! Il est difficile de ne pas envisager d'étudier au Canada où tant d'aventures excitantes et de débouchés d'études vous attendent!

Rencontrez d'autres étudiants internationaux de votre pays et d'autres nations, comme le Brésil, la Chine, l'Allemagne, l'Inde, la Jamaïque, le Liban, le Mexique, le Maroc, la Corée du Sud, qui ont choisi d'étudier au Canada. Découvrez ce qu'ils ont appris et où ils sont maintenant!

Juliana Souza du Brésil – Conseillère à la division internationale de Mercedes-Benz au Brésil

English Language Centre at the University of Victoria : Cours d’été d'anglais (2008)

Si je pouvais décrire mon expérience en une seule phrase, ce serait : l'University of Victoria- un lieu merveilleux et magique où le bonheur est infini! Le campus est tout neuf, propre, moderne et équipé de technologie de pointe. Vous n'avez qu'à vous y promener pour voir : superbes jardins, vastes installations sportives, centre de remise en forme, cinémas et bars.

Le cours d'anglais est excellent, les enseignants utilisent des méthodes qui sont dynamiques et divertissantes. Ils sont aussi patients et vraiment compétents.

Julia Zhu de la Chine – Sommelier, Beijing Hilton Hotel

George Brown College : Diplôme, Gestion hôtelière (2007)

Vivre une expérience passionnante et découvrir une autre partie du monde, telle était ma mission quand je suis allée pour la première fois au Canada. Je me suis tellement intéressée à l'industrie hôtelière que je me suis inscrite au programme de Gestion hôtelière du George Brown College et j'ai fini par étudier avec l'Association canadienne des sommeliers professionnels où j'ai été agréée après 2+ ans. Depuis, je m'occupe du vin dans différents hôtels Hilton.

Je ne peux pas sous-estimer l'influence que le Canada a eue sur moi. Je suis reconnaissante au système d'éducation canadien qui m'a permis de devenir ce que je suis et de tenter des expériences qui ont donné à ma vie une direction totalement différente.

Sarah Larsen-Vefring d'Allemagne

Université de Montréal : Études internationales (2009-2010)

Mes “Études internationales” à l'Université de Montréal m'ont transmis des connaissances solides sur les relations entre pays et cultures dans une optique canadienne. J'ai beaucoup appris sur les systèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux au Canada et en Amérique du Nord. Voyageant de Nouvelle-Écosse dans l'est jusqu'aux Rocheuses dans l'ouest, j'ai découvert l'extraordinaire paysage canadien. Pour la première fois de ma vie, j'ai fait du camping l'hiver, du traîneau à chiens et de la raquette.

Amit Tacker de l'Inde – Directeur, Ventes AV, Tacker Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Carleton University : Baccalauréat ès Ingénierie (2002)

Pour mes études supérieures, je cherchais un lieu qui m'offrirait un mélange d'éducation de qualité, de culture et de politiques sociales. C'est alors que j'ai trouvé le Canada. Tous ces facteurs se sont réaffirmés quand j'ai commencé mes études d'ingénieur à Carleton University, située dans la "Silicon Valley" du Nord. Mon séjour au Canada me permet aujourd'hui de servir professionnellement ma clientèle diversifiée en Inde, et mon éducation m'aide à rester en phase dans mon travail.

Damian K. Francis de la Jamaïque – Récipendiaire du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program/ELAP) (2009-2010)

Université d’Ottawa - University of the West Indies

Ma bourse Futurs leaders dans les Amériques (ELAP) m'a permis d'étudier dans un environnement académique de classe internationale au Canada. Ce fut une opportunité unique qui a considérablement enrichi mon expérience  et m'a aidé à élaborer des politiques destinées à combler le fossé entre laboratoire, terrain et société.

Monique Bassila Zaarour du Liban – Propriétaire et directrice générale de So7i Wa Sari3

Université McGill : Baccalauréat ès sciences en diététique (1994)

Les expériences académiques et professionnelles que j'ai acquises au Canada ne sont pas les seules raisons pour lesquelles j'encourage vivement les gens à y poursuivre leurs études. En fait, au-delà des solides connaissances scientifiques que j'ai acquises, c'est l'exposition multiculturelle que je chéris le plus. Mes professeurs d'université n'étaient par seulement des enseignants, mais aussi des mentors prêts à aider les étudiants à tout moment et en toutes circonstances. Ils m'ont enseigné la bonne manière d'apprendre et à réfléchir d'une manière critique.

Darinka Aguirre du Mexique

Emily Carr University of Art + Design : Maîtrise en arts appliqués et design industriel (2010)

Ces deux années au Canada sont à ce jour les plus importantes de ma carrière. Cette expérience m'a enrichie au-delà de ce que je croyais possible. Le Canada est un lieu sûr et multiculturel, où l'on respecte et prend soin des gens. Étudier au Canada m'a permis d'acquérir de nombreuses compétences d'un point de vue international. Grâce à cette éducation de haute qualité, j'ai été invité à parler dans d'importants colloques dans le monde entier. Le Canada est un pays dans lequel votre voix est entendue et votre opinion compte.

Kébir Ratnani du Maroc – Vice-président principal, Développement des affaires, Afrique du Nord et Moyen-Orient, SNC-Lavalin Construction Inc.

Université Laval : Maîtrise en génie biochimique, (1980) & Baccalauréat ès génie chimique (1977)

Le système éducatif canadien est un excellent environnement centré sur l'étudiant et sur le savoir théorique et l'expertise pratique, permettant à l'étudiant non seulement de réussir mais aussi de s'épanouir. Le Canada offre aux étudiants une expérience de vie gratifiante dont ils bénéficient au niveau professionnel autant que personnel.

Professeur James Won-Ki Hong de la Corée du Sud - Professeur et chef de division, Ingénierie de convergence IT, POSTECH, Pohang, Corée

University of Western Ontario : Baccalauréat ès informatique (1987), University of Waterloo : Doctorat en communications et systèmes de distribution (1991)

Je suis reconnaissant au Canada et au système d'éducation canadien pour la vie  belle, confortable et gaie que j'ai eue et pour l'excellente éducation que j'ai reçue de l'école secondaire, de l'université et des institutions de troisième cycle. Ceci m'a donné confiance en tout ce que je fais, m'a permis de devenir un libre penseur et a fait de moi une personne plus détendue.