Diverse group of students play football together on a sunny summer day; Group of students stop in front of building to take a group picture.

International student life in Canada

The 500,000 international students who come to Canada every year for college and university studies are just the tip of the iceberg. Thousands more travel here to go to elementary or high school, to take part in exchange programs or attend language school. Canada is a great place to grow and thrive as a student.

Discover what Canadians do for fun and what other international students think about Canada. Learn from us and from real students about what it’s like to live, study and work in Canada.

Study environment

What will your life be like as an international student in Canada? Learn about the safe, inclusive, respectful and supportive study environment.

Study environment

Student stories

Hear from other international students about school, life and work in Canada. Watch videos and read their recommendations. Get inspired!

Stories of international students

EduCanada videos

Our Video page is full of great videos about life in Canada for international students. Find out what other international students and scholarship recipients are saying about us.

EduCanada videos

A typical day in a Canadian classroom

If you become a student in Canada, what will your day look like? Much depends on the level at which you are studying. Select your desired level of study to see what a typical day can look like.

Elementary school

Your child will love the interactive and supportive classroom environment available to elementary (primary) students in Canada. From math to science, reading, languages, geography, history and beyond—our teachers excel at creating engaging lessons using the latest techniques. The technology is top notch with classrooms that provide interactive SMART boards, computers and tablets. School subjects go beyond the basics and often involve topics such as robotics, health sciences or 3D technology.

Children get plenty of time for physical activity in gym class and during their recess breaks. Throughout the year, they also participate in educational outings to museums, maple syrup farms, performing arts or theatre, and much more. Many schools offer extracurricular activities outside of regular school hours, including clubs, music, theatre and sports. There are also opportunities for children to showcase their talents at science fairs, music competitions, debates, spelling bees and other special events.

High school

High school life in Canada offers amazing opportunities for your child to learn, grow and be their best. High school is also referred to as secondary school. Our teachers are dedicated and driven to enhance every student’s learning experience. They bring their lessons alive with innovative approaches, technology and real-world opportunities. In addition to math, science, technology, languages, arts, geography, history and economics, students have access to a wide range of courses that may include robotics, aeronautics, pre-university math, international business, environmental studies and much more.

Many high schools offer specialized programs to prepare students for their future careers: entrepreneurship, engineering, law, international affairs, health sciences and outdoor education—just to name a few. There are co-operative education programs that provide valuable workplace experience. Some high schools also deliver International Baccalaureate® and gifted student programs.

Learning also takes place outside of the classroom—whether it’s a week spent attending university classes to discover higher education options, a visit to the science and technology museum, an overnight outdoor adventure excursion or a trip to Quebec City to experience French Canadian culture.

Student life is another important part of the high school experience in Canada. Every school has a wide range of sports and clubs available before, during and after school. These often include music, theatre, special interests (chess, math, gaming), team and individual sports, and student council. Your child will thrive by getting involved.

University or college (undergraduate)

Higher education in Canada encompasses college and university. Each offers unique opportunities for learning and growing. At college or vocational school your days will be filled with career-focused learning in a very practical way. In addition to attending classes, this might involve shooting and editing your own videos in broadcasting or working with patients if you want to be a dental hygienist. You might spend the day designing and constructing kitchen cabinets if woodworking is your career choice. In short, you’ll get plenty of opportunities to practice your skills in real work environments.

At university, your days will include lectures and labs, tutorials or workshops. This variety is what university life is all about, giving you a mix of learning and doing that will help prepare you for your future career. Your professors and instructors schedule office hours for students, so you can meet with them to discuss assignments or questions. Each class also has at least one teaching or lab assistant—usually a graduate student in your field who is also available to provide extra learning support to students.

Graduate or postgraduate (Master’s degree and PhD)

As a graduate student in a master’s, PhD or doctoral program in Canada, you will attend classes and spend much of your time doing original research or field work for your final research project, thesis or dissertation. You’ll thrive under the expert guidance of Canada’s renowned professors, researchers and instructors. You may also work on campus as a teaching, research or lab assistant.

At every level of higher education in Canada, student life is a huge part of your experience. College and university connect you with friends and colleagues who will remain valuable contacts throughout your career. You’ll likely enjoy a fun and active social life—whether it’s meeting friends for coffee, going out to pubs or clubs, experiencing your city outside of school hours, or travelling around Canada during your study breaks with friends.

Un groupe d'étudiants divers joue au football ensemble par une journée d'été ensoleillée; Groupe d'étudiants s'arrête devant le bâtiment pour prendre une photo de groupe.

La vie d’un étudiant international au Canada

Chaque année, le Canada accueille 500 000 étudiants internationaux qui fréquentent des collèges et des universités d’un peu partout au pays. Et c’est seulement la pointe de l’iceberg. Des milliers d’autres viennent ici pour faire leurs études primaires ou secondaires, ou encore pour participer à un programme d’échange ou suivre un cours de langue. Le Canada est un endroit formidable où grandir et s’épanouir comme étudiant.

Découvrez comment les Canadiens s’amusent et ce que d’autres étudiants internationaux pensent du Canada. Laissez-nous unir notre voix à celle d’autres étudiants pour vous dire comment c’est de vivre, d’étudier et de travailler au Canada.

Le milieu des études

À quoi ressemblera votre vie d’étudiant international au Canada? Faites connaissance avec le milieu des études canadien, un milieu sécuritaire, inclusif, respectueux et constructif.

Le milieu des études au Canada

Histoires d’étudiants

Laissez d’autres étudiants internationaux vous raconter leur vie, leurs études et leur travail au Canada. Regardez les vidéos et prenez connaissance de leurs recommandations. Laissez-vous inspirer!

Histoires d’étudiants internationaux au Canada

Vidéos d’ÉduCanada

La vidéothèque d’ÉduCanada est remplie de vidéos intéressantes sur la vie au Canada pour les étudiants étrangers. Découvrez ce que les étudiants internationaux et boursiers disent de nous.

Vidéos d’ÉduCanada

La journée typique d’un étudiant au Canada

Si vous veniez étudier au Canada, à quoi ressembleraient vos journées? Tout dépendrait de votre niveau d’études. Choisissez le niveau d’études visé pour savoir à quoi ressemblerait une journée typique.

École primaire

Votre enfant aimera le milieu interactif et convivial offert par l’école primaire (ou élémentaire) au Canada. Quelle que soit la matière – sciences, lecture, langues, géographie, histoire ou autre – nos enseignants offrent des leçons stimulantes, présentées à l’aide des dernières techniques et technologies (tableaux blancs interactifs, ordinateurs et tablettes). Le programme pédagogique ne se limite pas aux matières de base. Il comprend souvent des disciplines comme la robotique, les sciences de la santé ou la technologie 3D.

Les enfants ont suffisamment de temps pour se dépenser, que ce soit pendant les cours d’éducation physique ou les récréations. Ils font aussi des excursions formatrices – au musée, à la cabane à sucre, au théâtre ou ailleurs. De nombreuses écoles offrent des activités parascolaires, notamment des clubs scolaires, des cours de musique ou de théâtre et des tournois sportifs. Les enfants ont également l’occasion de mettre leur talent en valeur lors d’expos-sciences, de concours de musique, de débats, de dictées et d’autres activités spéciales.

École secondaire

Au Canada, l’école secondaire offre à votre adolescent des occasions uniques d’apprendre, de grandir et de réaliser son plein potentiel. Au Québec, l’école secondaire publique est également appelée « polyvalente » ou « école polyvalente ». Nos enseignants sont dévoués et veulent optimiser l’apprentissage de chaque élève. Les leçons sont vivantes, s’appuient sur des approches et des technologies novatrices et sur des situations de la vie réelle. Outre les mathématiques, les sciences, la technologie, les langues, les arts, la géographie, l’histoire et l’économie, les élèves ont accès à une vaste gamme de cours comprenant, par exemple, la robotique, l’aéronautique, les mathématiques préuniversitaires, le commerce international, les études environnementales et plus encore.

De nombreuses écoles secondaires offrent des programmes spécialisés qui initient les élèves à plusieurs secteurs du marché du travail – par exemple, l’entrepreneuriat, le génie, le droit, les affaires internationales, les sciences de la santé et l’éducation en plein air. Il existe également des programmes d’alternance travail-études qui offrent une précieuse expérience en milieu de travail. Certaines écoles secondaires offrent aussi le Baccalauréat International® (IB) et des programmes pour élèves doués.

L’apprentissage se fait aussi à l’extérieur de la classe. Par exemple, les élèves assistent à des cours universitaires pour découvrir les perspectives de l’éducation supérieure, ils visitent le Musée des sciences et de la technologie, passent une nuit en plein air ou se rendent à Québec pour faire l’expérience de la culture canadienne-française.

La vie étudiante est un autre aspect important du secondaire au Canada. Dans chaque école, il existe des clubs axés sur le sport et sur d’autres disciplines. On y organise des activités avant, pendant et après les heures de classe. Il s’agit, par exemple, de clubs de musique, de théâtre, d’échecs, de mathématiques, de jeux de société, de sports d’équipe ou individuels et de conseils étudiants. Votre enfant s’épanouira dans cet environnement.

Collège ou université (1er cycle – baccalauréat)

Au Canada, les études postsecondaires comprennent le collège et l’université. Chacun offre des occasions uniques d’apprendre et de se développer. Dans un collège ou une école de formation professionnelle, vos journées seront remplies par des activités d’apprentissage axées sur l’emploi. Outre votre présence en classe, vous pourrez par exemple tourner et monter des vidéos si vous choisissez un programme de télédiffusion; travailler avec des patients si vous souhaitez devenir hygiéniste dentaire, ou encore concevoir et construire des armoires de cuisine si l’ébénisterie vous intéresse. Vous aurez aussi l’occasion de mettre en pratique votre savoir-faire dans un milieu de travail réel.

À l’université, vos journées comprendront des cours et des laboratoires, des tutoriels ou des ateliers. La vie universitaire se distingue par sa variété et vous propose un mélange de théorie et de pratique – ce qui est idéal pour vous préparer au marché du travail. Vos professeurs et vos instructeurs font des heures de bureau. Vous pourrez donc les rencontrer pour leur poser des questions ou discuter d’un travail. Chaque classe est également dotée d’au moins un aide-enseignant ou un assistant de laboratoire. Il s’agit généralement d’un étudiant diplômé dans votre discipline qui donne un coup de pouce aux étudiants. .

Études supérieures (maîtrise et doctorat)

À titre d’étudiant diplômé inscrit à un programme de maîtrise ou de doctorat au Canada, vous assisterez à des cours et consacrerez une grande partie de votre temps à des travaux de recherche ou sur le terrain en vue de rédiger votre mémoire ou votre thèse. Vous évoluerez sous la direction experte de professeurs, de chercheurs et d’instructeurs renommés. Vous pourrez obtenir un poste à l’université, comme chargé de cours, assistant de recherche ou de laboratoire.

Au niveau postsecondaire, la vie étudiante sera une partie importante de votre expérience. Le collège et l’université sont des terrains fertiles pour créer des liens d’amitié et des contacts professionnels qui vous suivront pendant toute votre carrière. Votre vie sociale sera probablement active et stimulante. Vous pourrez rencontrer des amis dans un café, un pub, un club; découvrir votre ville d’accueil après les heures de cours ou visiter le Canada avec des amis pendant les congés d’études.